Meet the chef! Ontmoet die sjef!

One of my dishes: Chicken fillet filled with basil pesto and feta, wrapped in bacon, topped with cherry tomatores, fresh chives and avo

One of my dishes: Chicken fillet filled with basil pesto and feta, wrapped in bacon, topped with cherry tomatores, fresh chives and avo

(English follows below)

Ek kom uit ‘n familie wat lief is vir lekker kos en ek het nog altyd daarvan gehou om in die kombuis handjie by te sit met voorbereidings vir enige verskoning om fees te vier.

Na skool het ek bemarking studeer omdat dit ‘n veilige keuse was, maar ek het geweet dat dit nie werklik my passie is nie.

Toe ek uit my ouers se huis na my eie plekkie getrek het, was dit opwindend om my eie verbeeldingryke disse te skep. Ek het ontdek dat kosmaak my ware passie is.

Ek glo ek het ‘n natuurlike talent vir die skep van interessante smaakkombinasies en die maak van net plain lekker kos. Die vriende vir wie ek al gekook het, stem saam.

Al geniet ek die interaksie met mense in my bemarkingswerk, smag ek daarna om my droom te bewaarheid om ‘n sjef te word.

Ek glo my agtergrond in bemarking en my diensgeorienteerde benadering sal my goed te staan kom in my loopbaan as sjef en ek sal dalk selfs die twee kombineer om eendag my eie spysenieringsmaatskappy te begin.

Ek dink ek is volwasse genoeg en het genoeg werksondervinding om te weet wat ek van die lewe wil he. Ek probeer nog steeds om die finansies bymekaar te kry om ‘n culinary arts kursus te doen, but intussen kan julle my strewes om my droom te bewaarheid op hierdie blog volg.

Ek beloof om my eie heerlike resepte, skakels na ander interessante kosartikels, restaurant-resensies, foto’s, videos en sommer alles wat die mond laat water met julle te deel.

——-

Chicken fillet filled with feta and basil pestoI come from a family that loves good food and I’ve always enjoyed helping out in the kitchen preparing feasts for every occasion we could think of.

After school I studied marketing as this was a safe bet, but I knew it was not my true passion.

When I moved out of my parents’ house into my own place it was exciting to create my own imaginative dishes. I discovered that my real passion is cooking.

I believe I have a natural talent for creating exciting flavour combinations and simply cooking really delicious food. The friends that I’ve cooked for agree.

Even though I like the interaction with people that comes with my marketing job, I long to pursue my dream of becoming a chef.

I believe my background in marketing and my service-orientated approach will stand me in good stead in my career as a chef and I might even combine the two to start my own catering company one day.

I think I’m mature enough, with ample experience of the real working world, to know what I want in life. I’m still trying to get the finances together to do a culinary art course, but in the meantime, follow my struggle to achieve my dream on this blog.

I promise to bring you my own delicious recipes, links to other interesting food articles, restaurant reviews, photos, videos and much more to get your mouth watering.

10 thoughts on “Meet the chef! Ontmoet die sjef!

  1. jis jis neef!ish ma daai ding lyk lekker!gaan vi jou kom kuier dat jy dit vi my kan maak! geluk met die blog!lyk kwewl! en gud luck met die droom!

  2. Well done Andrew….dis ‘n goeie begin, ek wens jou alle sukses toe! Groete, Karen

  3. Dankie vir die ondersteuning julle. Waldo, jy moet kom! Ek blog gou weer! Cheers vir eers!

  4. Hi,
    ek het jou resep op op die Pasella site gekry – gaan hom defnitief probeer! Het jy gesien SA gaan nou sy eie “Masterchef” aanbied – dalk ‘n goeie manier om jou liefde vir kos ‘n stappie verder te vat!

    Groete

    Lizmar

    • Hi Lizmar, baie dankie! Ek hoop jy geniet my resep as jy dit maak : ) Ek sal definitief die “Masterchef”-opsie ondersoek. Ek hoop jy sal aanhou om my blog te lees, want daar kom nog baie lekker resepte!

      Beste groete
      Andrew

  5. Hey Andrew, great blog and yes, I believe you have what it takes to be a great chef. I would really like to use two of your photos of preparing kreef on my African Style Cooking Blog. I would give you photo credits and would like to link your kreef recipe for my readers.

  6. I have posted my recipe with your photos and a link to your blog here: http://stickychef.blogspot.com/ I will immediately delete the post if you indicate in my comments. But I hope you wont, because I like your blog and think my readers will too! Archi

    • Hi Archi, thanks so much for your comments and for linking to my blog. I definitely have no objections to you using it and crediting me. Thanks : ) I’ll keep reading your blog as well!

      • Great! And keep up the drive to become a trained Chef. Although to tell you the absolute truth, Some of the top chefs in the Safari industry where I work have minimal and zero qualifications or diplomas. Cooking is an art. You either have it or you don’t. I am convinced you have. So, Ja, get whatever qualification you can to get a job and then just do what you obviously do best! We’ll keep in touch..

Leave a Reply

